EXPLANATORY NOTES

International Migration Policies: Government Views and Priorities provides information on Governments' views and policies related to immigration and emigration for 196 countries, including all 193 Member States, one Observer State (the Holy See) and two non-member States (Cook Islands and Niue) of the United Nations.

Countries are grouped geographically into six major areas: Africa; Asia; Europe; Latin America and the Caribbean; Northern America; and Oceania. Those major areas are further divided geographically into 21 regions. In addition, the regions are classified as belonging to either of the two general groups: more developed and less developed regions.

The more developed regions comprise all regions of Europe plus Northern America, Australia, New Zealand and Japan. The terms "more developed regions" and "developed regions" are used interchangeably. Countries in more developed regions are also denominated "developed countries" or "North".

The less developed regions comprise all regions of Africa, Asia (excluding Japan), Latin America and the Caribbean plus Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia. The terms "less developed regions" and "developing regions" are used interchangeably. Countries in less developed regions are also denominated "developing countries" or "South".

The designations "developed" and "developing" countries, "developed" and "developing" regions, "more developed" and "less developed" regions, and "North" and "South" are intended for statistical convenience and do not necessarily express a judgment about the stage reached by a particular country or area in the development process.

The least developed countries include 49 countries (34 in Africa, 9 in Asia, 5 in Oceania and 1 in Latin America and the Caribbean), as defined by United Nations General Assembly resolutions 59/209, 59/210, 60/33, 62/97, 64/295 and 67/136: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, the Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Kiribati, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Vanuatu, Yemen and Zambia.

The term "country" as used in this publication also refers, as appropriate, to Observer States and non-member States of the United Nations.

Symbols of United Nations documents are composed of capital letters combined with figures.

Use of en dash (-) between years, for example, 2005–2010, signifies the full period involved, from 1 July of the starting year to 1 July of the ending year.

Use of en dash (-) between any other pair of numbers, for example, dates: 5–13 September and page numbers: pp. 90–101, signifies the full range inclusive of both the starting and the ending numbers.

Use of "n.d." indicates that no publication date was available for the citation, as is often the case for information obtained from websites.

Percentages in tables and figures do not necessarily add to 100 per cent because of rounding.